Home > Uncategorized > My Ancestor Yozaemon Masafusa Kageyama and Toyotomi Hideyoshi

My Ancestor Yozaemon Masafusa Kageyama and Toyotomi Hideyoshi


I climbed 500 steps, and paid my respect to the great #ToyotomiHideyoshi in #Kyoto #Japan. A cruel killer to some, an amazing leader who rose from poverty to unite a nation to others, he gave my ancestors a name nevertheless.

His tomb lays on the top of a hilltop, built by the #Hachisuka family, the latter who my ancestors, Yozaemon and Bunzaemon Kageyama, served. #MasakatsuHachisuka was the teacher and close advisor of the younger, Hideyoshi, and also the founder of Tokushima, Japan.

Masakatsu Hachisuka gave one of my ancestors the title of the “Shikata 7” for their valor and courage, during the Siege of Miki Castle. Hideyoshi would later repeat this tradition, and name “his best warriors,” the Seven Spears of Shizugatake.

My Kageyama ancestors’ files are on display to the public at the online Tokushima University archives here:
http://beedb.lib.tokushima-u.ac.jp/mylimedio/search/search-input.do;jsessionid=832fc48a20875f4c2e971b3473ef

Family tree can be found in historian Akira Haruta book on my ancestors “Tangaku Fujita and Sanyo Rai,” on page 31.
https://www.kosho.or.jp/products/detail.php?product_id=288732274&fbclid=IwAR2Esa2jNvNy9vMf0tHA9TxTqZKWqPXjhUIJvCfAydcgRX9geuiZhXQf-DI

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment